The Basic Gluten-Free Diet

The Basic Gluten-Free Diet

with No Comments

Here I can find gluten?

Foods made from grains (and grain-like plants) that do not contain harmful gluten, including:

1.Flours made from gluten-free grain, nuts, beans and coconut. Look for products labeled gluten-free to avoid cross-contamination.

2.Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, cassava, flax, millet, sorghum, soy, tapioca.

3.Plain rice in all forms (white, brown, wild, enriched rice, etc.).

4.Corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, grits, etc.).

 

Ingredients that contain gluten

 

Glucose syrup, lecithin, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch and vinegar (only malt vinegar might contain gluten). Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, tapioca flour or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.

The following foods:

1.Spices are gluten free. If there is no ingredient list on the container, it contains only the pure spice noted on the label.

 

2..Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely happens.

3..Distilled vinegar is gluten free. (See malt vinegar under NO below).

4..Vegetable oils, including canola.

5.Plain fruits, vegetables (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, potatoes, eggs, nuts, nut butters, beans and legumes.

6.Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt, most ice cream without gluten-containing add-ins.